Foods I Pathologically Hate

The two most influencial women in my life hate fish. As I’ve said before, my mom has not liked fish at any point in my conscious years, so much so that I don’t think we have ever had fish in my childhood home. My mother-in-law also doesn’t like fish, but she survived living the majority of her life in the UK, the land of Fish & Chips, just fine.

Because of my mom’s hatred of fish, I grew up thinking that fish was bad. I’M not a fish person! Why would you think that I eat fish. Gross!

But there were a lot more reasons I didn’t try fish until I was 19. I had a babysitter once butcher a fish in front of me, which was disgusting and somewhat scarring.

I also had a classmate who loved when the hot lunch was fish sticks. He had braces, and the mushy mix of fish bits and tartar sauce would get stuck in the wire and brackets. If that image doesn’t stick with you for a while, you’re probably made of stone.

Yet, somehow, Todd got me to put aside my pathological hatred for fish, as I said in my post about cactus. I didn’t like it the first time, or probably even the first 5 times I tried it, but the point is that I kept trying. The worst thing you can do is stop trying food, because your tastes will change, not necessarily for every item you retry and definitely not right away, but you have to keep trying.

A few more things I used to hate but kept trying: mustard, bell peppers, cilantro, salsa, tomatoes for that matter, onions, and I’m sure my mom could leave a comment with a few more. (Hint: Mom, that would really help me drive home my point.)

So, here are a few foods that I currently hate, because I’ve decided that they are things I just don’t like. These are the foods that I haven’t even thought about trying in at least a year. They’re foods for which I can’t offer an explanation of my hatred, but that I will avoid like the plague.

1. Olives

I know that I shouldn’t hate olives because I love hummus, and olives go really well with/in hummus, but I really can’t stand them. It doesn’t matter if they’re black or green, I won’t eat them. I wouldn’t be able to describe the taste of them for you, because I haven’t tried one in 3 years, I just know that I don’t like them.

2. Shrimp

The first time I tried shrimp was on New Year’s Eve when I was 10 or 11. I was so proud of myself for trying one that I ate quite a few more, convinced they were my new favorite food. At the end of the night, I didn’t like them anymore. From time to time I will try them, but that’s only if they are in something like Chinese fried rice. I would never seek them out intentionally.

3. All Shellfish that isn’t Crab

This kind of goes along with the hatred of fish and shrimp, but it’s more of a fear than anything else. I tried a mussel once at a Peruvian restaurant. I’m very sensitive to texture, so while it wasn’t the worst thing in the world, it’s not something I’ve ever tried again. Plus, you always hear about people getting sick from shellfish – or is that just in my mind?

4. Raisins

Explain this one to me. I like grapes, I like dried cranberries, but I don’t like raisins. I won’t eat anything that has raisins in it… trail mix, oatmeal raisin cookies, ants on a log… I just can’t stand them.

5. Red Wine

Okay, this isn’t technically food, but it’s something that is paired with food quite frequently. Maybe this comes with being a new-ish drinker – I’m only 23 after all – but I really don’t like red wine. I try to enjoy it, but the face I make after each sip definitely wouldn’t suggest any type of pleasure.

I’m going to make it my mission to keep trying these foods until I like them, but it would help if I had more interesting ways to use them. That’s why I need your recipes. You know how to submit them from my previous posts, so do it already! And remember to subscribe and leave comments below.

Until the next taste,

Whitney

