My Life Gave Me the Flu

So much has happened in the last week or so, and as a result, I’ve worn myself out and now I have the flu. That’s not exactly a good recipe for a cooking blog… Instead, I think I’ll just catch you up on my life the past few weeks.

I’ll start with some backstory on this one: I’ve heard that it’s bad luck to say something positive like “Nice weather today” or “[blank] is going really smoothly” because that’s when things take a turn for the worse. I guess this is just one of those cases. A few weeks ago, Todd and I were talking about the future, plans for a family, and our financial position. I said I was really proud of us for really tightening our belts and saving so much in the few months we’ve been married. We talked about how we thought we were financially on track to buying a house and starting a family the way that we pictured it playing out.

A couple days later, Todd hit a deer with his car. I was saving this story for when I finally try venison, but I think that’s a bit too morbid. He coaches soccer about an hour away, and as he was driving home – on the freeway, at about 9:30, right in front of the “Deerfield” exit – he hit a deer in the butt and it flipped over his car. He needed a new grill, hood, and radiator – and we had just replaced his radiator about 3 weeks before this! The insurance company decided that the damage was too much to repair, so they were going to write it off and give us a check towards a new car. So, after a little over 2 weeks of research and me putting on my best poker face at the dealership while Todd anxiously played with the fun flip-out key thingamajigger, we took home an almost new used car that is now Todd’s mistress. I don’t use the word “sexy” a lot, but it’s a sexy car. It also has amazing safety ratings, a big boot (that’s the trunk, but I prefer the British-English in this case), and it is amazingly comfortable and quiet. Plus, there’s enough room in the back for little people (someday).

Todd and His Mistress

But making our first huge purchase wasn’t the only big life event that happened to me this week. I chopped off a bunch of my hair. In high school, I would cut and dye my hair all the time for plays and musicals. But during my Junior year, I decided that if I wanted to be able to do anything with my hair when I got married, I should grow it out. Yes. That’s what I said. I started growing my hair out for Todd 2 years before I even met him. As we got closer to the wedding, I started thinking about what to do next. I decided to donate it. Both of my mom’s sisters donate their hair every so often, and I thought it would be the perfect thing to do with my super-long hair. I finally got an appointment with someone I knew in high school, and we ended up cutting off 12 inches to donate. I’m really happy that I went through with it. I love my new haircut, my hair will grow back, and somebody else out there needs it a lot more than I do. I’m donating it to the Pantene Beautiful Lengths organization, because I heard they make great wigs. I’m sure it’s going to a great new home.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On top of those big decisions, I just finished my midterms in my last semester of college, and I’m training my replacement at my work-study job next week, as I can’t keep working there once I’ve graduated.

In the midst of all that, I DID manage to do some cooking, but I had a handful of setbacks. I made a Chinese jicama, carrot, and cabbage slaw with peanuts, but I have misplaced the camera I used to document the experience.

I will catch up on that post and finish the one where I conquer the Molcajete (which I did!) in the next few days. I might even make some soup to try to knock out this flu or whatever it is.

How about you do me a favor and 1) send me a recipe for your best “I’m Sick and I Want to Not Be Sick” food remedy, and 2) help me pick out my next recipe:

Now, I will leave you with a REEEALLY easy, non-ethnic recipe, perfect for times when you don’t want to really TRY to cook, but you want something delicious.

You’ll need:

1 Pork Loin/Tenderloin

1-1/2 individual size bottles of Root Beer

1/2 bottle of BBQ sauce

A slow-cooker

Directions:

Put the pork in the slow-cooker. Pour in the root beer. Cook for 6-8 hours. If you poke it with a wooden spoon and the meat separates, it is done.

Take the pork out of the slow cooker and put it in a large container or serving dish. Pull it apart using two forks (or two salad claws, if you have them). Add 3-5 ladlefuls of the juice from the slow-cooker and 1/2 bottle of your favorite BBQ sauce. Mix it all together and serve it up however you like to eat your pulled pork.

Like I said, SUPER easy. Give it a try and tell me how it turns out.

As usually, remember to subscribe to my blog and use the comments section below. I really appreciate all your feedback, and I’d love to get some more followers. My blogging class is competing to see who can get the most followers by the end of the semester, and I’m super competitive, so I’d love you help with that… See the box in the top right margin that asks you for your e-mail address? Why don’t you go ahead and type that in. Go ahead. Just type it in and you’ll be notified whenever I post something new. Did you do it? Did you follow me? Oh good! Thanks!

Until the next taste (when I get my sense of taste back),

Whitney

