WANTED: Recipe Wishlist Top 10

Over the past 2 months or so, I’ve really enjoyed getting back into the kitchen. I’m more confident in my cooking abilities – possibly unrightfully so – and I’m having a lot of fun trying foods that I would have been too chicken to try a few months ago. I still can’t believe I worked with cactus, or that I ate mussels. Or that I liked mussels.

I want to keep experiencing new things, but I need to recruit some help. I’m looking for authentic recipes for more foods I haven’t tried, or at least have never tried to make. I’ve compiled a “Recipe Wishlist” of – you guessed it! – foods I’d love to try, and for which I have no recipe, or no way of knowing what makes it authentic.

If you have a recipe for any of the following foods, PLEASE send it to me using the Submit a Recipe form.

1. Baklava – The first time I tried baklava, I was at Disney World at a cart between “Morocco” and “Italy” at the Epcot center. I would love to see how I get on working with puff pastry, nuts, and whatever gooey goodness makes up the rest of baklava.

2. Borscht – Todd loves beets, and I want to like them. I remember watching Rugrats growing up and how they gave Chuckie a bath in borscht when he “got skunked.” (Here’s where I would usually include a link to a clip, but the only one I could find on YouTube had inverted colors due to copyright laws, and I can’t bear to torment my readers with that.) I’d love to give this a try, and hopefully get rid of my distaste for beets.

3. Tandoori Chicken – I love Indian food, but I usually lean towards Chicken Tikka Masala and other mild foods – or at least not foods that are bright red, as such foods are typically flaming hot. I want to move past the chicken breast and try working with other parts of my favorite fowl. This would be an adventurous place to start.

4. Peking Duck – I have only tried duck once. Todd and I went to a Chinese restaurant, and he ordered some kind of duck dish, and it ended up being huge and not very good. I think it’s about time I tried this again.

5. Haggis – Believe it or not, I’ve tried haggis before. This past June, when Todd and I were in Scotland, I was determined to try some authentic food. I’ll save the story for if I do end up making it. In the meantime, if you have a recipe for haggis, this gal wants it!

6. Soul Food – I’ve focused a lot on international dishes, but I don’t want to forget about all the dishes that have originated in the US. I mean, “Melting Pot” is part of my blog’s name. I need to start trying some foods from THE Melting Pot country. I’ve never tried collared greens, black eyed peas, or ham hocks. If you have any recipes for those or other soul foods, I’d love to have the recipe.

7. Scallops – I’ve only tried scallops once, and it was in a ceviche. If there’s one thing I’ve learned about trying things for the first time, ceviche is usually not the best method. Now that I’ve conquered mussels, I want to attempt more seafood. Recipes for clams, shrimp, salmon, and other seafood is also welcome.

8. Kimchi – I’ve never tried kimchi before, but I’m intrigued, to say the least. Did you know that kimchi is traditionally buried underground while it ferments? I think I’m going to have to try this.

9. Rosette Cookies – When I was growing up, one of the best things about Christmas at Grandma’s house was her rosette cookies. There’s nothing like choking on powdered sugar once a year in celebration of the birth of Christ. I would love to make these cookies, and I think my mom can tell me where the rosette irons are, so this will possibly happen next month.

10. Sausage – Sausage seems extremely intimidating. So, naturally, I want to try making it from scratch. Types of sausage I would especially like to attempt to make: Kielbasa, Chorizo, Blood Sausage, and Cheddar Brats. (That last one’s a Wisconsin thing.)

In addition to these specific items, I’d love to get recipes from the following list of countries: Countries From Which I Want Recipes.

Haha. Get it? I want recipes from everywhere.

But in all seriousness, I want to try everything you throw my way. So, please send me your recipes. Ask your parents, grandparents, friends. I want to make this a real Melting Pot Pie of cuisines. That’s only possible with your help.

Thanks!

Until the next taste,

Whitney

