This Food’s Got Style

In my last post, I talked about how I want to work on my food photography. Part of what makes a great food photo is the styling. Most people know that photo shoots for fashion always have a stylist to put together the look, the make-up, the hair, and the little details. It’s the same for good food photography. If you are a great food stylist, everyone who sees the end result will have a mouth-watering, jaw-dropping, eye-popping experience with your photo. They also might lick the image, but that’s only if you’re REALLY good.

I just want to share a photo of food styling that gives me something to work towards.

I subscribe to dailybuzz Food, a site that posts recipes that belong to a daily theme. In this case, it was pumpkin. I’ve been getting so inspired by the foods these bloggers create, and how well they style the food they’ve created. This is what good food photography looks like.

Photo Courtesy of Will Cook for Friends. Click on photo to view blog.

It’s not clean. It’s not perfect. It’s food. It’s delicious, sometimes messy, always textural. This is what I’m striving for in the future. I could stare at the details of this photo – successfully avoiding my homework – for quite a while, studying the contours of the ravioli and the constellations of grated parmesan against the dark wood sky. This is my landscape photography. Forget a desktop background with trees or mountains. Give me rosemary trees and Yukon potato mountains towering over a stream of gravy by fields of cabbage. This is my oasis.

 Now, I don’t want you to look back at my photography and compare. That’s not the point. Nor would it be fair. I just want to share some of my aspirations for this blog. It’s not just the idea of learning how to cook again, or experiencing different cultures through food, or even trying new ingredients. I want to teach myself to view food differently. And I want to bring you along for the ride. A year or two from now, I want to look back at these last two months of photography and laugh at how much I had to learn. We’ll see if that’s the case.

Until the next taste,

Whitney

